

PRESS RELEASE

(For Immediate Release)

Notification of Presidential Action [I] – 12/07/2024

CHANGES IN THE SENIOR RANKS of THE NATIONAL POLICE SERVICE & KENYA PRISONS SERVICE

HIS EXCELLENCY Hon. William Samoei Ruto, Ph.D, CGH, President and Commander in Chief of the Defence Forces, has on this 12th day of July, 2024, accepted the resignation of **Eng. Japheth N. Koome, MGH**, as the Inspector General of the National Police Service.

To facilitate the transition within the top leadership of the National Police Service (NPS) and Kenya Prisons Service (KPS), our primary homeland security agencies, the Head of State and Government has issued Executive Order No. 7 of 2024.

By dint of this presidential action, the **following appointments/designations** within the specified institutions and positions have been made, as follows:

I. Appointment – Commissioner General of Prisons

In accordance with the Prisons Act, His Excellency the President has appointed Mr. Patrick Mwiti Arandu as the Commissioner General of Prisons. Mr. Arandu takes over from Brigadier (Rtd) John Warioba, CBS who is proceeding on terminal leave pending the end of his tenure of office.

II. The National Police Service

A. Acting Inspector-General, NPS

Pending the nomination, parliamentary approval and appointment of the Inspector-General of the National Police Service, the Head of State has, in accordance with **Section 16 of the National Police Service Act**, designated **Mr. Douglas Kanja, CBS** the Deputy-Inspector General of the Kenya Police Service as **the acting Inspector-General of the National Police Service.**

B. Redeployment

In accordance with **Section 17 of the National Police Service Act**, His Excellency the President has caused the redeployment of **Mr. Noor Gabow**, **CBS** within the Public Service.

C. Acting Deputy-Inspector Generals

Upon the recommendation of the National Police Service Commission, pursuant to **Section 13 of the National Police Service Act,** the Head of State and Government has designated the persons set out hereinafter as **Acting Deputy Inspector-Generals**, as stated:

NAME	DESIGNATION
Mr. Eliud Lagat	Acting Deputy Inspector
	General,
	Kenya Police Service
Mr. James Kamau	Acting Deputy Inspector
	General,
	Administration Police
	Service

D. OTHER SENIOR RANKS OF THE NPS

The Head of State and Government has, on behalf of the National Security Council (NSC), noted the changes effected by the National Police Service Commission within the senior ranks of the National Police Service as follows:

NAME	DESIGNATION
Mr. Ranson Lolmodooni	Commandant,
	General Service Unit (GSU)
Mr. Gilbert Masengeli	Commandant,
	Administration Police
	Training College (APTC),
	Embakasi.
Mr. William Yiampoy	Director of Operations,
	Police Headquarters.
Mr. Kainga Mathiu	Commandant,
	National Police Leadership
	Academy (NPSA), Ngong.

His Excellency the President has expressed his gratitude to the outgoing Inspector-General of the National Police Service for the service he has rendered to the nation and has extended his best wishes for success in all his future pursuits. The changes notified within our homeland security agencies take effect immediately.

> **HUSSEIN MOHAMED, MBS STATE HOUSE SPOKESPERSON**

> > Friday, 12th July 2024